Fines, Impound and Appeals

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Expired Meter Fines

The following rates apply to expired meter violations:

  • First offense: Warning
  • Second offense: $7
  • Third offense: $12
  • Fourth offense: $15
  • Fifth offense: $20
  • Sixth offense: $25
  • Sixth offense or more: $25

Every July 1, every license plate will start again with a warning if an expired meter citation is issued. Accrued fines will remain outstanding until paid. Contact the Transportation Services department at 319-356-5151 for more information.


The following fines escalate in fee if the initial fine is not paid within 30 days.

  • Parking in commercial loading zone: $25
  • Parking in prohibited zone: $15

Parking Fine Payment Options

  • Online Lookup and Payment
  • Parking Office: 335 E. Iowa Ave, 319-356-5151
    • Mail in
    • Drop Box
    • Pay in Person
    • Phone
  • City Hall: 410 E. Washington Street
    • Cashier
    • Drop Box on East Side of Building

We do not recommend sending cash through the mail. Use checks if paying through mail or drop box. Visa/Discover/MasterCard are also accepted at the Parking office and City Hall cashier.

Parking Ticket Appeals

If a person wishes to dispute the issuance of a parking ticket, a Parking Ticket Administrative Review Form should be completed within 20 calendar days from ticket issue date. The review form is then examined by a three-member panel with a determination based on the defenses or mitigating circumstances set forth. The panel may dismiss any parking ticket for good cause and any fines already paid towards the reviewed parking ticket shall be refunded, less any unpaid parking fines then owing by the driver or vehicle owner charged. The ticket escalation schedule is frozen upon the receipt of an appeal for that ticket. Escalation will resume if an "appeal denied" decision is reached for that ticket.

Vehicle Impound

If $50 or more in parking fines accumulate on one vehicle and it has been at least 10 days since the last citation was issued, the vehicle is added to an impound list. Once on the list, the vehicle is subject to tow and impoundment. To release a vehicle from impoundment, all parking and tow fees must be paid by cash or credit card.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer