Historic Preservation

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Urban Planning office assists in identifying and preserving historically significant landmarks and districts. The Historic Preservation Commission, with the assistance of the preservation planner, reviews requests for exterior changes to properties located within the eight local historic districts and conservation districts, and historic landmarks. Historic preservation helps to ensure that any proposed change is compatible with the historic character of the building and neighborhood.

Historic Districts

Iowa City has eight historic districts that are on the National Register of Historic Places and protected by local historic preservation zoning. These include the following districts:

  • Brown Street
  • College Green
  • East College Street
  • Jefferson Street
  • Longfellow
  • Northside
  • Summit Street
  • Woodlawn

The Melrose district is on the National Register but is not designated as local historic preservation zoning district.

Conservation Districts

The City also has five conservation districts, including the following:

  • Clark Street
  • College Hill
  • Dearborn Street
  • Goosetown/Horace Mann
  • Governor-Lucas Street